Whatever mutant, insanely weird virus that has been inhabiting my body for the past 2 weeks, this is your final warning. You need to move it along, for the sake of my sanity. I hate having to wake up with a crusty nose, inability to breathe, & feeling like I'm in the phase of a post-beatdown.
Usually when I get sick, I rely on my strong immune system to do me wonders. (Let's face it - I beasted on vegetables when I was little.) A while back when I started noticing symptoms, I took it as getting any other cold - rest up a little bit, dress appropriately (despite what my Mom or you, Babe, think :P), & just go day to day bearing it. I forced myself to attend class, followed by my work shifts at night. I took it as nothing, waiting patiently for the sickness to eventually lighten up off me. Yet it's been a little over 2 weeks, & I still feel horrible. To only make things worse, the symptoms vary, & the only thing that is consistent is that I feel like shit.
Sunday morning, the day that followed Valentine's Day, I was alarmed to wake up in such a bad condition. I could barely speak, my throat felt swollen, & my phlegm-conjested cough did nothing to help. I decided that enough is enough - I needed to see my oh-so wonderful doctor (take note of the sarcasm). I rushed an appointment & drove myself to Elmhurst, only to be packed into a waiting room for 3 hours. "I hate waiting rooms - they're a cess pool of germs." Hahah, credentials to my boyfriend, putting up with the hassle & waiting with me. Turns out they diagnose me with bronchitis, which followed a series of other procedures - physical, urine test, EKG, & a sonogram to be done on my throat to check for swollen areas. Half of the things they scribbled & attempted to inform me on seemed irrelevant - all I wanted to know is what the hell is wrong with me & how do I go about getting rid of it? According to them, it's nothing 3 pages of prescription antibiotics can fix. Which, reminds me, I still have to pick up.
I took advantage of the doctor's note of absence & decided to take Sunday & yesterday off from work. I figured, since I forced myself to keep going about my daily routines weeks ago instead of resting up, I could make up for the lost time now. Staying home all day on a beautiful Monday off would hit the spot, right? Well, half right at least. Last night I went to sleep with a runny nose, but nothing too out of hand. This morning, for the first time in about 10 days, I was not awoken by a sore throat. Things seem to be looking up, but just as I stepped onto the 7 train, a migrane decides to drop bombs on my brain. Following this is a great amount of pain I feel tingling down my arms, spine, & calves. I break into a cold sweat amidst English class, which does nothing for the fact that I'm falling asleep mid-sentence.
I don't know what it is, but I'm sick & tired of being sick & tired - literally. I normally take getting sick as something very minor, a reason to justify the many naps I want to take through out the day. But to be in this condition for half a month? A girl can only take so much. I hate feeling so.. Shitty.
Walking into this computer lab, I anticipated writing an essay. I have a first draft due for English this coming Thursday, & I only found out about it last night while I was combing through my syllabuses. Of course, I choose other ways of occupying my time, ones that are far from productive. Blogging, Facebook, & listening to AJ Rafael on Youtube. Although, a nap sounds amazing right about now..