Thursday, April 2, 2009

I'm from a city in the Midwest..

Yeah, definitely did NOT get my go go gadget flow from Chicago.. (Get it? In reference to that Lupe Fiasco song? Get it? Yeah, no? Laaame.) Yesterday was the infamous April Fools, a day that is deemed the only time people can lie out of their ass & not face consequences for it. I never really celebrated the "holiday" faithfully - just last year I totally forgot such foolish things were to be taken place. But this year, I thought hey why not. I put on Twitter & Facebook that I was to move back to Chicago, AGAIN, for my Fall semester of college. It's funny, because my own boyfriend fell for it (but that was your fault, Babe :P).

Speaking of, I can't believe it's been well over a year already. Almost 2 years since I left at that. So much has happened & many things have changed, I feel as if time is slipping through my hands way too quickly. I remember last year around this time, every aspect in my life was taking a turn for the worse - I seem to impress myself when I reminisce, because I still can't believe how resilient I am to change. That's the one thing I'd really have to give myself credit for - when the going gets tough, I get on the grind ye'diiiig. -_- Haha.

I fear for Kuya & what direction (if he has any, at all) he wants to take his life. I give him credit for being mature & taking the semester off as I did, even working majority of the week to occupy his time. But the priorities of time management & where to put money is lacking.. I don't know, everything? I don't know what it's going to take for him to realize that only he himself can straighten up & mature. I guess it was a blessing in disguise that our bank account numbers got mixed up, so I ended up getting his $850 tax refund. Day after day he would beg me to write him a check to transfer out his money, but I didn't write it til yesterday because I wanted him to get a savings account set up. Had I transferred it the day I got it, all that would've been gone. You see, people these days don't tend to get off their ass & do things until they're pushed out of their comfort zone.

Bleh, but enough about me ranting.. As of lately, the whole school business has been getting the best of me. Well, not completely, but my brain has already kicked into slack-off, vacation mode due to the long awaited Spring break. I manage to keep up with my work though, but that's because I do everything the night before it's due (aside from that damn English paper.. Whoops). Then again, it's already Thursday, so just 4 more days of class & I should be home freeeeee. I'm working that Monday to Friday of break, but I can't complain. I need to get my cake back up!

Wednesday is the day I get out earliest from school, so Nicky picked me up at around 1230pm & then drove back to Elmhurst. We took the train to West 4th & met up with James, who I haven't seen in what seemed like forever. Gray's Papaya, vinyl shopping, & walking along the Village/Lower East Side was definitely something I needed. Not to mention all of the laughs & inside jokes, it gave my abs a good work out. I was in awe while fanning through the crates filled with old school vinyls - I swear, I'd buy a record player just so I could jam out & listen to them. The aesthetics of every shop we went to fascinated me everytime. It felt like the hip-hop scene from back in the day, when garbage wasn't being played on the radio.

It's been about an hour & Kathleen still hasn't called me. Waiting up for her to finish her placement test here at QCC, then most likely drag her to eat somewhere since I'm staaarving. Well, I'm off to do some more time-killing. Til next time.

No comments: