Personality assessment tests & Craigslist kill my self-esteem.
In a nutshell, Applebee's didn't turn out to be the job suited for me. Well, I mean the food industry is what I got used to, all thanks to Ihop. But I believe that no matter what the scenario is, nothing is ever worth it if you're completely miserable. Working at an upscale, popular dinner restaurant is guaranteed cash flow. But if I want to strangle my coworkers & tape the manager's mouth shut ever second I stand in their presence, then I'm obviously somewhere I don't need to be. Ever since I decided to stop dragging my sorry ass to work at Applebee's, it leaves little ol' me unemployed.
Fun & Freedom? Hardly.
I live a very uneventful life as of right now, being without a job & without school. As sick as it sounds, I actually envy those of you who have class & homework. Trust me, there is such a thing as TOO MUCH relaxation. I'm probably saying this now, because I tend to always want what I don't have. Once Winter semester rolls around & I'm balancing between homework, a job, the boyfriend, family, & personal time, I'm going to wish I could sleep all day. But, believe it or not, I'd rather be kept busy & occupied as opposed to just taking up space.
So this leaves me with my only option: job-hunting. My brother, who works at Red Lobster, was kind enough to put in a good name for me at his job. He snagged me an opportunity to apply as a hostess, so like any grateful sister & jumped at the chance of new income. Turns out I fail the assessment test, which is mandatory to pass in order to be considered for hire. What sucks is that when I applied to Applebee's, I failed their assessment test as well (the interviewer just gave me the benefit of the doubt & hired me anyway). I know it really wasn't that big of a deal, but c'mon. I practically stormed my away across the street, trying to keep a calm & collected attitude. I was more disappointed rather than mad. Oh well. I heard that he's going to try & score me a second chance, but even at that I still feel.. insecure? It's not the exact word I thinking of to describe what I'm feeling, but it'll do for now.
I'm thinking of expanding my horizons of jobs & debating whether to branch away from the whole restaurant biz. I actually applied to a bunch of office assistants & receptionist positions-- from what I've seen & heard, the hourly pay is pretty sweet. I just spent the last hour combing through listings upon listings, emailing to inquire about job openings. I've also thought of applying to retail clothing stores, just to open up more options. My first impressions on sales associates isn't really a positive one (can you say, "clothing maid"?), but you never know until you find out.
So wish me luck, because I need as much of it as I can get. Selling whats left of my sneaker collection can only cover for my expenses for so long. -_- Hopefully, I can find a job opportunity that's out there for me, an opportunity other than the food industry.
By the way, I applied to a coffee shop as well. I couldn't help myself, old habits die hard.
Wednesday, September 10, 2008
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

No comments:
Post a Comment